I’m not very proud of this. In fact, I can’t even believe I’m going to write this post…But my blog is lacking in the food department since I’ve been banished from the kitchen (damned recovery). Still, I don’t consider this a recipe and I’m usually against cake mix. JUST SO YOU KNOW.

My mom told me about a cake she saw on Facebook… It contains a whopping two ingredients: Angel food cake mix and a 20 oz can of pineapple. I was skeptical, but I do like angel food cake and pineapple so I offered to taste-test for her. Oh, the things I do for those I love…

Anyway, she decided to make it this morning while I fed O his green beans. If you’re dying to make it, here’s how:

Start by pre-heating your oven to 350 degrees.

mixing

Mix one angel food cake mix and one 20 ounce can of pineapple. It foams, so use a bigger bowl than you think you need.

pour

Pour it into a greased 9 x 13 inch cake pan and bake for 30 minutes.

baked

We let it cool while we age lunch, then mom asked if I wanted a piece. Since my mother is the Sugar Nazi, there is apparently no icing. Still, I’m always up for a piece of cake…

finished cake

I’m sure the Facebook ‘recipe’ claimed this would be the best cake, like, ever in the history of cake. NOT SO MUCH. It was ok, and I will probably end up eating more of it because, cake…But it had a very different texture than what I was expecting. It also didn’t have the pineapple flavor that I thought it would…it was there, but in a pretty mild way. Mom used crushed pineapple, so there weren’t any giant chunks to bite into. That’s probably a good thing, given the weirdly dense texture.

So there you have it. Two ingredient ‘cake’ that is fairly decent.

Sandra Lee would be proud…and that makes me feel a bit ashamed.

