You guys.

For real.

If you make this cake you’ll understand why I have no words. When you get it out of the oven, angels will sing. Ed McMahon will come knocking on your door. A unicorn will trot through your kitchen with a leprechaun and a pot of gold on his back. What I’m trying to say is, this is a damn good cake.

A friend of mine suggested this recipe when I mentioned that I was searching for the perfect chocolate cake. The BF’s birthday was yesterday and the man loves chocolate more than a woman in the middle of a visit from Aunt Martha. Last year I made him a chocolate cake with peanut butter icing and it was good but I wanted better. I may have found it.

The original recipe is courtesy of a lovely little blog, Slow Like Honey (I was immediately won over by the Fiona Apple-inspired name) and can be found here. I only made one tiny change… I used regular unsweetened cocoa powder instead of dark. I actually couldn’t find dark cocoa powder in my little grocery store. I probably could have found it at Wal-Mart but I try not to go there too much. It isn’t good for the psyche.

The BF made the coffee this morning, and he likes it strong so that’s what ended up in the cake. There wasn’t an overwhelming coffee flavor, so don’t worry about having a mostly coffee cake.

I was curious about the pepper, even wondering if it was a mistake. I added it (which caused a sneezing fit when I switched on the mixer) and I’m glad I did. It’s definitely there, but not overpoweringly so.

The icing (or frosting?) is seriously the best thing ever. I found a recipe a long time ago and have adjusted it to meet my needs. I use:

1 cup of creamy Jif peanut butter (don’t go cheap…this is the brand that seems to work best)

1 stick softened butter (I used unsalted today since I already had it, but I’ve used salted before and it was fine. Just use REAL butter, please)

2 cups powdered sugar

3ish tablespoons milk (I had whole milk on hand, but you can sub in whatever milk you have.)

Use a hand mixer to get the butter and peanut butter nice and smooth, then add the powdered sugar a little at a time. Once you’ve added all of the powdered sugar, add milk a little at a time to get the consistency you want. Now just make sure most of it ends up on the cake.

image

 

 

This cake was sitting in the refrigerator calling my name all morning… I had to practice a lot of self-control to avoid eating the rest of it for breakfast.

 

