I’ve been pretty busy lately… With Father’s Day, the Dave Matthews Band concert, and the BF’s birthday all happening within days of one another I feel like I’m running around like a chicken with its head cut off. Add in the surgery I’m supposed to be having next week (but maybe not thanks to my insurance company) and I haven’t had much time for menu planning. To be honest, there hasn’t been a lot of cooking going on in my kitchen.

I know. I’m disappointed in me, too.

Last Thursday I had to make the 30ish minute drive for a last minute ultrasound that insurance was demanding. I got back to town and realized I needed to make a trip to the store and I still didn’t know what I was making for dinner.

I opened Pinterest to see if I had anything easy in my food board. Before I could even open my own pins, I saw a spaghetti recipe that seemed easy enough. It was better than the frozen pizza I was seriously considering, so I grabbed what I needed at the store and headed home.

spaghetti

The original pin can be found here.

For once in my life I actually followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn’t use the entire box of angel hair pasta, and I seasoned my ground beef with some salt, pepper, and a little granulated garlic…those were the only changes I made. It was pretty easy to make, and it was surprisingly good. Million dollar good? Eh, maybe not. I’m not really sure what that even means…

image

image

image

You’ll end up with a lot of food… so be prepared for leftovers. I finally tossed the last little bit because I just couldn’t eat any more of it. I’m not sure if this would freeze well.

I’d make this again, with a few changes. I think a rectangular baking dish is the way to go with this one, because you’ll have thinner spaghetti layers. I used a deeper dish and had a lot if plain spaghetti in the middle. I’ll probably add some chopped garlic, maybe some basil and oregano to the cheeses.

It’s a good throw-together meal when you don’t have a clue what to make!

