My dad is a humble, hardworking man. He can be reserved, but if you happen to bring up one of his favorite subjects he’ll immediately warm up. Once that happens you might as well get comfy, because you’ll be chatting for a while.

His sense of humor leans toward goofy, with some occasional sarcasm thrown in. Be careful, though, because the man possesses razor-sharp wit and is capable of coming up with some real zingers. I’d like to think I got my sense of humor from him.

When my brother and I were little, Dad liked to get involved with our activities. I mean, really involved. When my brother played baseball my dad umpired and coached…He carried a mini rule book in his pocket and I swear he had it memorized. I was in 4-H, and I’ll never forget the year Dad helped me bake cookies on our gas grill.

Dad taught me the value of honest, hard work. He taught me that honesty is always the best policy and that when you assume, you make an ass of you and me. He tried to help me learn from his mistakes, but was always there when I had to figure things out on my own.

I can remember when my Dad was just the dumbest guy on Earth… Like most teenagers, I was not so inclined to listen to his advice. Now I can see how much heartache he tried to save me.

I thank God every day that I have my dad…especially after his heart surgery. I’m even more thankful that I get to watch my dad experience his first grandchild. The man was made to be a grandpa.

 

Happy Father’s Day, Dad.

