I have recently discovered spaghetti squash and holy moly is that stuff good. I can’t get enough! Better for you than pasta AND it tastes better?! Yes please!

I’ve tried it with meat sauce, plain with just a bit of salt and pepper, and topped with a teeny bit of cheese and garlic slivers. All delicious.

You know what else I really like? Bacon. I have the uncanny ability to take something that is reasonably good for you and make it very unhealthy. That usually involves a lot of cream. And butter. And sometimes bacon.

I was going to make spaghetti squash carbonara, but then I decided to just go all-out with artery clogging goodness and make alfredo sauce (not real alfredo, but you know what I mean). Man am I glad I did.

You need:

1 spaghetti squash

Oil (I used grapeseed, you could use olive oil)

Salt and pepper

Bacon (I used about half of a pound)

About 1/4 to 1/2 of a large onion, diced

3-4 garlic cloves, sliced

2 Laughing Cow Classic Cream wedges

1 pint half and half

1/2 to 1 c grated parmesan cheese

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. With a large, sturdy knife hack that squash in half lengthwise. Please be careful doing this…It’s not easy. I think next time I’m borrowing the BF’s chainsaw. Once you get that sucker split open, scoop the pulp and seeds out. I like to use our old school metal ice cream scoop for this.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil (trust me on this…I ruined a good cookie sheet the first time). Coat the inside of each squash half with oil, then sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place halves cut side down on the cookie sheet, then roast in the oven for 35-45 minutes. When the timer goes off, I like to set it on the counter and flip the slices over to cool.

2013-05-28 17.58.34

Once your squash is in the oven, fry up some bacon! Since I want little bacon pieces anyway, I go ahead and use my kitchen shears to cut the bacon slices into smaller pieces. Fry them on medium heat until the slices are crispy, then remove them to a paper-towel lined plate. Pour off most of the fat, leaving a couple of tablespoons or so in the pan. Turn the heat down a tad (from 5 to 4 or 3), add the onions and garlic and cook until the onions are translucent and a little squishy. Unwrap the cheese wedges and toss those in the pan, along with some of the half and half. Let this mixture heat gradually, stirring occasionally, until the cheese wedges melt. Stir in more (but not quite all) of the half and half and about 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. Again, let this heat together until it becomes a smoother sauce. If you need to thicken the sauce, add more cheese…if you want a thinner consistency, add more half and half. Taste the sauce now and add salt and pepper if needed.

At this point, turn your sauce to low and start shredding the squash. All you have to do is rake a fork through it and you’ll see why it’s called spaghetti squash. Once I get it all shredded I add it to the pan with the sauce, but you could always put it on the plate and ladle sauce over it. Serve it with bacon sprinkled on top, with garlic bread and salad on the side.

2013-06-10 17.50.15

 

 

