My mamaw’s birthday was Saturday… Every year my aunt gets her an ice cream cake and the family gets together to eat it celebrate with her. This year would have been no exception, but her doctor has advised her to stay away from dairy. Definitely no ice cream cake, but maybe no cake at all for the birthday girl?

Well that just wouldn’t do.

I did some Googling, and I did find some lactose free cake recipes… but I wasn’t terribly impressed with any of them. Worse were the icing recipes. None of them sounded good! I decided to take matters into my own hands and alter a regular recipe.

For the cake, I adapted a Better Homes and Gardens yellow cake recipe.

2 1/2 c flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 c lactose free buttery spread
1 3/4 c sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1 1/4 c lactose free milk (soy, almond, etc…)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Mix flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Set aside.

With a hand mixer, beat butter until fluffy. Add sugar and vanilla and mix again. Add eggs and mix until well blended.

Alternate adding dry mixture and milk a little at a time, mixing after each addition. Once everything is blended together, pour into greased cake pans (I used 8in round pans) and bake for 30-35 minutes. Let cool in the pan for about five minutes, then remove and allow to cool completely on a cooling rack.

For the lactose free icing, I just adapted my favorite crusting buttercream from I Am Baker.

1/2 cup Crisco
1/2 cup lactose free buttery spread
2 tsp vanilla
2 lb powdered sugar
1/2 to 3/4 cup lactose free milk

Blend the butter, Crisco (you could do all Crisco if you want WHITE white icing, just make sure to use clear vanilla also), and vanilla. Add powdered sugar a little at a time and blend well. Add milk, also a little at a time, until you get the consistency you’re looking for.

image

image

image

This cake was very, very good. I was worried that it wouldn’t turn out well but everyone really seemed to enjoy it. The icing is very sweet, but it wasn’t overpowering.

I’ll definitely be making this cake again… and of someone you love is lactose intolerant I think you should, too!

By the way, you might be tempted to exclaim, “Here’s a cake that won’t make you shit your pants!” (or whatever it is that lactose does to intolerant people) but try to refrain. It might put a damper on the party mood.

