card

Hallmark seems to be getting lazy about their poems. The very best my ass

In honor of Mother’s Day, an interview with my very own mother:

Me: Ok Mom, what do you think of Mother’s Day?

Mom: What do I think of it? I think it’s just like Father’s day…I think it’s a nice tribute. But I think the feelings you express on those days should be expressed every day. You know what I mean?

Me: I do! What’s your favorite Mother’s Day memory?

Mom: Hmmm…I don’t think I have one. Am I supposed to?

Me: Ok, what about your funniest?

Mom: Really?! I don’t know! (To dad) Have I had a funny Mother’s Day?

Dad: Huh?

Me: Ok…If you could get anything you wanted for Mother’s day, what would you ask for?

Mom: I’ve got what I want. God blessed me with two healthy kids and a loving family and two grandkids we can spoil rotten and send home.

…Then she got distracted playing with O and watching the NASCAR race. I had to rein her back in…

Me: AHEM.

Mom:…

Me: Do you feel differently about Mother’s day now that you’re a grandma?

Mom: Well, I don’t know. This is the first one. I’m proud of my family…and the love that I feel for my family…but I guess it just doubles it, being a grandma.

Me: Do you remember what you did for your first Mother’s Day?

Mom: Um…probably…OH YES, I do remember. (To Dad) Wasn’t that the Mother’s Day that mom came up and we went to the Redwood Inn for dinner?

Dad: I think so…

Mom: Mom and I took you and we went there for dinner. Maybe this would count for a funny story? I didn’t think it was funny at the time. Let’s see…you were 8 months old. We put you in a high chair and you did fine ’til you started fussing. You scooted yourself under the tray, so you were kind of hanging out under the tray of the high chair. You just kind of raised your arms up and slid…Anyway, you were crying and carrying on and everyone in the restaurant is trying to have a nice Mother’s Day and here I am trying to hang on to you when a waitress comes over. Her and Mom are trying to get the tray off of the high chair and you were crying and I’m trying to keep you from sliding all the way through…we get the tray off and I get a hold of you and I was just done. We paid and I never went back to that restaurant. So that was my first experience of being a mom on Mother’s Day.

Me: Well thanks for not dropping me in the middle of the restaurant.

Mom: I didn’t! I held on!

Me:  So what’s your favorite thing about being a mom?

Mom: It’s hard to put into words… I mean, I don’t know. I guess it’s…Well, the first time they grab your finger, or they say ‘Mama’ for the first time, or they hold up their arms and say ‘carwy me!’… Or when their first words are ‘dirt’ and ‘pepsi’ (for the record,that would be me), or remembering your brother humming while he ate… Seeing you getting excited because Dad brought the backhoe home and saying ‘I ride the tobacco!’

I had piles of rocks from the driveway that I couldn’t get rid of because they were SO special…You kids just loved to bring me rocks. Then there are days when you just want to pull your hair out…and you wonder, ‘who raised these kids?!’ I don’t know if that’s even the right answer for your question…but it’s everything. It’s the day your baby is born and your heart just melts. And you think, ‘this is ours. this is what we created with our love.’ And the thing is, there isn’t a day that goes by that there aren’t little things that, no matter how many years it’s been, you can just see it happen. You’d be surprised…You’ll always remember your baby’s smell.  And things like, after you got old enough we couldn’t get by with cheating when we read you a book. You’d say “Nuh uh, that’s not what that says…”

…Did that answer your question? I don’t even remember what the question was…

Happy Mother’s Day, readers!

