So I’ve done my fair share of bitching lately about all of the recipes and handy tips that keep mucking up my Facebook newsfeed… And I stand by my original statement that I find it annoying.

HOWEVER.

A friend of mine mentioned that she saw a recipe for cucumber salsa on Facebook. According to her it was delicious and I needed to try it. I don’t really love cucumbers and I’m fundamentally against all of this recipe sharing on Facebook, but I found myself looking it up while at the grocery store a couple of days ago and somehow the ingredients ended up in my cart.

I didn’t have high hopes for this stuff at all. In fact, the first time I tasted it I wasn’t really sure what the fuss was all about…But I could NOT stop eating it. I mean, I’d put the lid on and put it up, but five minutes later I’d be standing there with the refrigerator door open eating it with a spoon. Apparently, this stuff really is that good.

I didn’t use the exact recipe that was on Facebook, and I can’t find it now to credit it to anyone… So here is my version:

1 large cucumber, diced

1 smallish tomato, diced

about 1/4 cup red onion, diced

1 large clove garlic, diced

1 jalapeno, diced (optional…remove seeds and membrane if you don’t want too much heat)

1 generous handful of fresh cilantro (I like to just rip the leaves off of the stems and throw them in…you can chop it up if you like)

1 single serve container of plain Greek yogurt (original recipe called for sour cream)

Zest and juice of half a lime

About a palmful of cumin

Salt to taste

Mix everything up. Try not to eat it all in one sitting. I mean, that’s really all you do. The really cool thing is how versatile this stuff is. Eat it as a dip, use it as a condiment, eat it with a spoon in the middle of the night… It’s good in all applications!

cucumber salsa on chicken

Delicious on garlic lime chicken.

cucumber salsa and chip

Awesome with homemade flour tortilla chips.

If you decide to make this, I would suggest going just a bit further and making your own chips. It’s seriously the easiest thing ever and they are SO good. I haven’t tried this method with corn tortillas, though I imagine it would work the same way.

2013-05-10 11.03.44

Use fajita or soft taco size…otherwise you’ll end up with giant chips.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Stack some flour tortillas and cut into 4 wedges. I used 4 tortillas so I got 16 chips. Hooray for basic math!

Arrange tortilla wedges in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Spray with Pam and sprinkle with salt. You could also add other spices if you like…this time I used some granulated garlic. Flip the tortilla wedges, spray, and sprinkle with your spices.

Put them in the oven for 15-20 minutes. About halfway through cooking I like to flip them over. Make sure to watch them starting at the 15 minute mark because they can burn pretty quickly.

This is the only way I can get flour tortilla chips in Indiana… I developed quite the addiction when I lived in Texas, but when I moved back home they were nowhere to be found. Sad face.

BUT!

They’re easy to make and probably better for you this way.

So there you go. Cucumber salsa (a perfect summery recipe, methinks) and a bonus recipe, if you can call it that.

Don’t forget to like Willfully Disobedient on Facebook. I promise I won’t spam your newsfeed!

