After Sunday’s post,  I got a few emails asking about kale… Specifically, how to prepare it and how to make it taste good. To be honest, I actually like the taste of kale, but I was that kid who loved Brussels sprouts. I was also the kid that looked forward to the required summer reading list every year… How on Earth was I not the most popular kid in school?!

So from the emails I received it seems that most people think kale is a bit icky..Please don’t let that keep you from trying it. There are so many different ways to prepare it that I’m sure you’ll find one you like!

As I’ve mentioned, you can sub kale into anything that calls for spinach. I’ve used it in veggie and regular lasagna, soups, ravioli filling, omelets, etc… If you grind it up into teeny bits (using a food processor), you can put it in meatballs and sprinkle it on top of all sorts of things… Just pretend it’s parsley. I also know people that add it to smoothies…though I can’t vouch for how that tastes since I’ve never tried it.

Baked kale is all over Pinterest. Check out Repurposed and Redriven’s take on baked kale chips for an easy recipe…and Smitten Kitchen offers a unique way to eat baked kale (hint: it involves popcorn). I’ve tried both ways…and both are very yummy.

Another awesome option is baby kale, which you can find pre-washed in the produce section of your grocery store. Baby kale is milder than grown-up kale so it’s less scary and is easier to use raw. Try it in a salad along with your usual lettuce. I actually stopped using lettuce in salads because I like the flavor of baby kale so much. Plus, regular old lettuce is bor-ring.

Baby kale is also awesome in sandwiches. I used to make my favorite sandwich with hearts of romaine…Not anymore!

Ladies and gents, I present to you my most favorite sandwich EVER:

Oven roasted turkey breast, shaved so thinly it’s falling apart

Sharp cheddar cheese

Baby kale

Thinly sliced fuji (or your favorite variety) apple

All smooshed between two slices of whole-wheat bread with just a smidge of mayo.

My goodness, it’s heaven on bread.

Let me know if you decide to try kale…tell me what you made and what you thought of it. I think you might be pleasantly surprised.

Just so you know, Mario Batali wasn’t kidding when he called kale ‘nature’s little colon sweeper’.

Fair warning.

