Happy Sunday y’all!

So I’m a huge fan of anything that I can sneak kale into… I usually throw a bunch into my mini food processor and grind it up so I can add it to things like meatballs and spaghetti sauce without any fuss (that’s oregano, honey…). It’s so good for you that I think you should eat it every day. Mario Batali even referred to kale as “nature’s little colon broom” on The Chew… So I’m guessing if you eat it a lot it’ll help you stay regular. Someone let Jamie Lee Curtis know so she can stop shoving Activia down our throats. Is anyone else weirded out by how much ol’ Jamie Lee wants to be involved with our pooping habits?

Oh, did you think I was going to go a whole day without talking about poop? It’s like you don’t even know me…

So where was I?

Oh yes…This week’s pin.

I get really excited when I find a recipe that calls for spinach because I have found that I can substitute kale with no troubles.

Pizzapasta

This recipe is really versatile… Not only can you use kale in place of spinach, but I’ve also used a few different types of pasta (cheese tortellini, rotini, and cheese ravioli so far) successfully. I typically use mild breakfast sausage (can’t get too wild since I’m breastfeeding) but you could use hot or sweet Italian.  The original recipe says to use Italian style tomatoes. I couldn’t find anything that was specifically called Italian style at my grocery store, so I bought Hunt’s brand Basil, Garlic and Oregano diced tomatoes. I really like the flavor so that’s what I’ve stuck with, but there are lots of varieties to choose from. Also? As much as I love my crock pot, you really don’t have to drag it out for this one. I usually make it in my stock pot, which makes this a one pot meal. Less stuff to clean up makes me very, very happy.

PizzaPasta

Not terribly photogenic…

I serve it with grated cheese on top, some type of garlic bread and occasionally a salad…In this case I decided to be lazy and use crescent rolls out of a can, but I did at least mix butter, Parmesan cheese, a couple of garlic cloves and some basil in my mini food processor and smear it on them before baking. If that doesn’t say love I don’t know what does.

Hey, I can’t be Betty Crocker all the time.

You could also use your homemade bread (or a loaf of store-bought French bread) to make cheesy garlic bread if you really want to impress someone.

garlicbread

I have a top-secret method for what I think might just be the best garlic bread of all time. Perhaps someday I will share it with you.

So this pin gets a big ol’ thumbs up from me and the BF (who has eaten it a number of times and gone back for seconds).  It’s quick to throw together, can be a one-pot meal, and it’s super tasty.

***

If you’re in the market for a cool new t-shirt AND you want to do a good deed, check this post out. Even if you don’t buy one please share the post and help me get the word out, ok?

