Oui monsieur bonjour coquette, 
Uh huh croissant e chevy corvette, 
Maurice chevalier effeil tower, 
Oh oui maria bagette bon soir, 

FRENCH TOAST! FRENCH TOAST! 
-The Toast Song, Heywood Banks (Heard on Bob and Tom)

Remember how yesterday I said I made French toast with my bread?

french toast 2

Believe it or not, in the middle of beating my egg I realized that I had no syrup. I did have some brown sugar, so I decided to use that…It was possibly the best French toast I’ve ever had. Here’s how to make it:

Mix an egg or two (depending on how many bread slices you’re making) with some milk or cream, cinnamon, and a bit of vanilla extract.

Meanwhile, melt some butter in a pan.

Dunk each bread slice in the egg mixture…Make sure each side soaks up some eggy goodness. Don’t let it get too soggy or it’ll take forever to cook.

Once the butter is melted and the pan is good and hot, add your bread. Let it cook for about 5 minutes, then flip.

Place a bit of butter on each slice of toast, then sprinkle on some brown sugar. Use as much or as little as you like, just keep in mind that it will take time to melt. Put a lid on the pan and let everything cook for another five minutes. You might have to turn the heat down a bit so things don’t burn. Burnt brown sugar is sad brown sugar.

That’s it!

french toast 3

I was way too impatient, so the brown sugar didn’t melt quite enough to get to a syrupy consistency. It was still amazing.

I suppose you could use store-bought bread and it would still turn out nicely…Though I would recommend getting a nice fresh French loaf from the bakery rather than regular old white bread in a bag.

Don’t forget to like my page on Facebook and share it with your friends! As soon as I hit 500 Facebook likes I’ll be hosting a neat-o giveaway. Free stuff, hooray!

**EDIT**

For those that haven’t heard the Toast song:

