This week’s Pinterest find is a cleaning tip. Thanks to Pinterest I’m slowly learning how to do this whole domesticated stay-at-home-mom thing.

It’s a wealth of knowledge, people.

When I moved in with The BF I inherited a glass top range. Having never encountered one before, I was a bit clueless as to how I should clean it. I went through a lot of trial and error (LOTS of error) before I finally stumbled onto this cleaning tip. I mentioned it to The BF who assured me that it wouldn’t work. “The only way to get stuff off of that range is with a razor blade”, he said.

Well that just doesn’t seem like a good idea. Me + sharp objects = likely disaster. I really don’t know how I manage to cook dinner every night without losing an extreme amount of blood. Now I need to go knock on wood…

…Ok. So anyway, I pinned this:

 

 

All you do is sprinkle some baking soda on your glass top range (when it’s cool!). Soak a towel or two in hot, soapy water. Wring out each towel until it’s still very wet but not soaked, then lay your towels over the baking soda to cover the range. Set a timer for about 20 minutes or so, then walk away. When the timer goes off, just use your towel to rub the baking soda paste on the surface of the range. I had to wet a clean dishrag to get all of the baking soda off, then dry the range top with a towel.

It works! I tried it after The BF cooked one evening (lots of burnt-on gunk) and I couldn’t believe how easily it all came off. I use this trick once a week now and just wipe the range down with a warm, soapy dishcloth daily. I also use Clorox Cleanup to wipe down my counters and cutting board (always rinse any surface that comes in contact with food!) so I go ahead and do that to the range top while I’m at it.

What I’m saying is, that range top gets a lot of attention. Tender loving care, if you will.

image

I’d like to think it’s never looked better.

Oh, and just a word of advise…

Don’t try this while your oven is on Self Clean mode. The towels will dry out and you’ll end up with crunchy chunks of baking soda instead of a nice paste. Oops.

