So here’s the deal. Every now and then The BF stops by the grocery store after work and comes home with one of these:

chef boyardee

 

On this particular shopping trip he also ended up with a jar of alfredo sauce… He figured we could have chicken alfredo pizza one night since we had all of those chicken breasts in the freezer. I don’t know about you, but I didn’t want to take the good chicken breasts (yes, I still have six left from Omaha Steaks and I’m hanging on to them) and just throw them on a damned old pizza. Sheesh.

I ended up using pre-cooked oven-roasted diced chicken breast, bacon, baby spinach, basil, shallots, garlic, and three kinds of cheese.

The BF wants chicken pizza? Well he’s gonna get chicken and bacon alfredo pizza with all kinds of other goodies hiding under the cheese. Because I’m an overachiever.

For the crust just stir water into the crust mix ( I used both packages), coat with some oil, cover and let sit in a warm spot while you prep the other stuff. I put a towel over the bowl and set it on the stove top while the oven preheated to 425 degrees.

Fry, bake or nuke (if you want to use pre-cooked bacon…I won’t judge) as much bacon as you want. Actually, make a little extra since you will probably eat a couple of pieces to make sure the bacon meets your standards… I call that Quality Control.  Once it’s crispy set it aside on a paper towel lined plate to cool. When it’s cooled enough that you can handle it, crumble it up.

If you need to, grate your cheese. I had some basil and garden vegetable semi-soft cheese in the fridge that I used, along with pre-grated parmesan and pizza blend.

Fancy cheese (1)

Rinse off your basil and lay it flat on a paper towel to dry.

Basil

Thinly slice about half to three quarters of a shallot and four cloves of garlic. I suppose you could use less garlic but…why?

Shallots

I like to dump the chicken on my cutting board and check for any gristly (barf) chunks. I cut the gristle (gag) off of them if I can and throw it out. I hate big chunks of chicken on anything so I also cut each chunk into smaller pieces.

By now your oven should be preheated. Spray a pizza stone with Baker’s Joy (that stuff is magic) or just use a regular old non-stick pizza pan. Spread out the crust as evenly as possible, then smear on some of the alfredo sauce. Don’t be afraid to lick the spoon when you’re done.

Rip up some baby spinach leaves and your washed basil, then throw it on the sauce as evenly as possible. Yes, I suppose you could Chiffonade your basil and spinach but…eh.

Add the shallot and garlic slices, then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese (I also added the freshly grated basil and garden vegetable cheese at this point).

Pizza 1 (1)

Evenly distribute the chicken chunks, cover with pizza blend cheese (or whatever you want), then top with crumbled bacon.

pizza 2Bake for 25 minutes, then let it rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting. I realize that will be incredibly difficult but you must stay strong. Trust me, it will be easier to cut once it has had a chance to cool slightly.

finished pizza
pizza slices (1)

 

I feel very Semi-Homemade right now… Sandra Lee would be proud. Now all I need to do is down a cocktail or two (hiccup!) and cover my table in some obnoxious themed ‘tablescape’.

I prefer to make stuff from scratch so I know exactly what goes into the food I feed my family…but I suppose the occasional convenience food isn’t horrible. Besides, this was good. Really, really good. I ate four pieces and felt pretty miserable for a little bit but it was worth it.

Of course, I wasn’t too miserable to skip having ice cream a little later.

What?!

 

