image

Image from IMDb.com

Y’all remember this movie? I suppose my younger readers might not since it came out in 1988.

Awesome, now I feel old.

…Anyway, if you haven’t seen it (you young whippersnapper) feel free to go here for a good description of the plot. Or maybe you should rent it on VHS. They just don’t make good movies like that anymore.

So the other night The BF and I were talking about high school (we graduated in the same class) and a name came up that I hadn’t heard in a long time… I wondered out loud what had ever happened to this person and, since neither of us knew, the conversation went in another direction.

We went to Wal-Mart last night for more bottles, coffee, and some other things (guess which dumbass walked right out of the store with decaf but no regular coffee. I blame The BF for distracting me during the selection process). While we browsed through the baby section another couple walked by. They looked familiar and I realized the girl might have been who we had mentioned. Trying to be quiet so as not to seem like a weirdo, I got The BF’s attention and mouthed “Is that insert name here?”

BF- Huh?
Me, mouthing again- Is that name of person we were just talking about?
BF- I have no idea what you’re saying.
Me, now whispering- Is that person’s name?
BF- …

By this time, the couple had walked away after noticing my wild hand gestures and, I’m sure, assuming I was completely insane.

Me- I SAID is that who we were just talking about the other night?! I think we Beetlejuiced them!
BF- Oh. I have no idea, I didn’t see them.

I never did find out if she was our old classmate. I probably would have been less conspicuous had I just walked right up and asked her name.

So next time you’re talking to someone and you bring up a person you haven’t seen in a long time, be careful. If you say the person’s name too many times you just might end up looking like a maniac in Wal-Mart.

And you’ll probably forget the coffee.

