I have this weird thing with salty/sweet foods… I love fruit and cheese, kettle corn is awesome with a little dusting of white cheddar or Parmesan, Sriracha and peanut butter is delicious and I’m a big fan of Wendy’s fries dipped into a Frosty.  Ok, really? I just like French fries plus ice cream, period. Of course, everyone thinks I’m weird so I’ve learned to hide my (apparently) bizarre food combinations. The last time The Boyfriend and I went to Dairy Queen, he finished his food before me and had to run back into town. I was practically shoving him out the door because all I could think about was dipping those fries into my strawberry cheesecake Blizzard.

It was delicious.

Anyway, I’m getting off track here. This post isn’t about French fries and ice cream…this post is about cookies! More specifically, potato chip cookies.

Now, I know you’re thinking that sounds weird but…I quite enjoy potato chips dipped into chocolate sauce. Have you had Ben & Jerry’s Late Night Snack yet? It’s awesome! And it contains chocolate-covered potato chip clusters.

…There I go with the ice cream again…

I was at the gas station this weekend to fill up, and I decided to get The BF some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups because he wasn’t feeling well (and because I’m an awesome girlfriend). While I was looking through the candy section to find the biggest peanut butter cups possible I happened to notice Sugar Babies hanging out on the bottom shelf.  I love Sugar Babies but they’re pretty hard to find, so I grabbed a bag of them along with The BF’s king size peanut butter cups. Later that evening, I was shoveling them into my face when I suddenly wondered why I’d never seen Sugar Babies in cookies. I aimlessly scrolled through my Facebook news feed while visions of Sugar Babies in cookies danced in my head…Lo and behold,  Smitten Kitchen had a new cookie recipe posted.

I swear, I thought it was fate. The recipe for Potato Chip Cookies was right there in front of me, practically shouting “HEY! Try putting Sugar Babies in ME!” I got so excited that I interrupted The BF’s story to tell him about it. He pretended to be thrilled, then went back to his story.

Last night I finally got the chance to bake. I had intended to make the cookies Monday night but I decided to make dinner for The BF and I instead. I’ve somehow been domesticated, it seems.

I stuck pretty close to the original recipe for once in my life…Only straying to add a small bag of Sugar Babies to half of the dough. I did use salted butter (it’s what I already had), so I left the ¼ teaspoon salt out. I think I also had pudgier cookies than she did, because mine took quite a bit longer to bake. Once I checked them at the 15 minute mark and realized they weren’t done I started checking them every 5 minutes until they were baking for about 25 minutes. Just keep an eye on them and make sure they don’t stray passed golden brown on the edges.

The verdict?

Well… Sugar Babies don’t belong in cookies.

Sugar Baby remains

For one thing, they melt while baking and ooze all over your cookie sheet…Then, if you don’t scrape them up fast enough the goo becomes rock-hard as it cools. The cookies don’t turn out terribly pretty, either… And I’m afraid they might cause cracked teeth.

Well, maybe they have nice personality...

It’s a good thing I only used half of the dough for the Sugar Baby experiment… The other half turned out quite nicely.

Image

Pretty cookies

I left the pecans out because I didn’t have any, but I think they would be a nice addition. The chocolate topping is just a Hershey’s bar melted with a little butter and milk, and of course I sprinkled some more crushed chips on top.  I didn’t taste the potato chips like I had hoped, so next time I’m adding a full cup instead of just 1/2 cup.  I think I’ll also add the 1/4 teaspoon of salt because the cookies were still pretty sweet.

I would definitely say these are worth making… Super simple and pretty tasty, plus I think there are a lot of ways you could customize the recipe to fit your taste. I’m actually thinking of sprinkling bacon on top next time…

I mean, why not?

 

