Last night, the Senate here in the great state of Indiana passed Right to Work. I know a lot of people out there probably thought “Hey! I can support that!” because who doesn’t want the right to work? Makes sense, right?

But it doesn’t. At all.

See, we all already have the “right to work”. We also currently have the right to enjoy things like mandatory break and lunch times, high safety and health standards,  fair wages… I mean, I don’t know anyone working in a sweatshop for $.13 an hour, do you?

No, because we don’t live in China.

Um, unless you actually do live in China. In that case I’m sorry.

There are a lot of people that support Right to Work and I honestly don’t think they understand the consequences we will ALL face if it passes the House.  These are typically the same people that use inflammatory, generalizing language when describing the horribly evil and awful unions.

I don’t know if people just don’t bother to read before forming opinions or what… Did you know that everyone here in the good ol’ US of A (um, those of us that bother to work for a living, anyway) benefits from unions?

I don’t know about everyone else, but I’d prefer to keep making what I already do, or perhaps get a raise. I certainly don’t want to end up making less… And I really like the fact that around 10:00 each morning I can get up from my desk for 15 minutes to get a coffee.

I really, really want every single one of you to go to this page and read what it says. Take some time to think about it. If you still disagree with me, that’s fine. I value freedom of speech just as much as I value my good working conditions.

If you’d prefer a more condensed version of the information, go here.

 

