My favorite little girl on earth turned 1 on Sunday. I was certain it was a mistake because I swear she was just born yesterday, but her mother assured me it was true.

What does she know?

So, before I say anything else about the cake I do want to mention that I am employed again. Hooray! I got the job through a temp agency here in town and I’ll be the receptionist for a woodworking tools company for the next three months or so. Paychecks are neat.

Ok, the cake.

I offered to make this cake because I thought it could be a lot of fun… Miss Mally is in love with Mickey so Brette (her mother, my friend) and I looked at a few different pictures until I got a good idea of what she wanted.

I went through a lot of what The BF would call R&D (research and development)…

The cake itself was…well, a piece of cake. Sorry, couldn’t help it. In the top left of the picture you can see a few of my many attempts at getting Mickey heads just right…

There were some mishaps… I had to eat a couple. Rooty even got one. I iced the ones I liked the most with black decorator icing.

Ok, I realize they don’t look exactly like Mickey… But at this point I wasn’t even sure they’d make it on the cake.

R&D, folks. Tasty, tasty R&D.

I cut the cakes into smaller mini-cakes, stacked the layers and crumb-coated them, then put them both in the fridge. After the first coat set up I tried and tried and tried to get a smooth final layer of icing on them.

Guys, I just couldn’t do it.

I thought all was lost until I realized I had everything I needed to make marshmallow fondant.

And seriously, I don’t know why I’ve been against fondant for so long. This stuff is an absolute dream. I love it.

Side note: If you decide to make your own marshmallow fondant make sure to really grease up your hands, counter and rolling pin. A bench scraper is also great to have on hand because even if you do coat every surface with Crisco it still sticks on occasion.

After two days of work and much rolling and shaping and cursing I ended up with this:

Honestly, for my first attempt at working with layers and fondant…I’m pretty proud of how it turned out.

After destructo-baby got a hold of it, we ended up with this:

I’m not sure, but I think that’s a sign of a satisfied birthday girl.

 

