We ended up with approximately a ton of apples somehow and, as much as we all enjoy them, we couldn’t possibly eat them all before they went bad.

I made apple cake today. Problem solved!

I should mention that baking while watching football could be a little messy… There were a couple of times that a cup full of flour almost went flying through the air but I somehow managed to keep the mess to a minimum.

Anyway…

The recipe I used was given to my mom a while ago. I don’t know who Darlene is, but her name is on the top of the recipe. Thank you Darlene, wherever you are, because this is a damn good apple cake.

For the cake, you need:

3 tbsp butter

1 c sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 c flour

3 c diced apples

1/4 c nuts (I used chopped walnuts)

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat your oven to 350. Cream together butter, sugar and egg. Add cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, soda and flour to the creamed mixture. Add in apples, nuts and vanilla.  Pour into a pan (I greased mine with a little Baker’s Secret but I don’t know that it’s necessary) and bake for 40 minutes.

Naked cake

Once the cake is out of the oven make the topping:

1 c brown sugar

1 c water

1 stick margarine

2 tbsp flour

1 tsp vanilla

Put brown sugar, flour, margarine and water in a saucepan. Cook and stir until thickened, then add the vanilla and pour over the cake.

Appropriately dressed cake

It may be necessary at some point to chase your mother away from the topping…

Luckily she waited ’til I had already poured it over the cake before she started getting all grabby.

The recipe makes a LOT of topping…I kind of wish I halved it because it’s extremely sweet. Depending on your taste you might want to make less topping. Or more. Do whatever feels right to you.

Yum!

Now I know what you’re thinking…that picture is missing something. Well, you’re right. This would be delicious warm with vanilla ice cream but guess what…We still have no ice cream.

I don’t know how I live in these conditions.

Still, that’s a damn good apple cake.

