Today I have to go to the grocery store. It’s the day before Thanksgiving.

*sigh*

I know, I should have planned better, but I tend to wait ’til the last minute for just about everything. Last year I didn’t go Christmas shopping until two days before Christmas.

I’ve been making turnip gratin for my dad every year for Thanksgiving since I found it on the Pioneer Woman’s website…It’s probably the only recipe I haven’t messed with at all. It’s delicious exactly the way she has it, though I don’t put butter between the layers. I’m also going to make a big ol’ double batch of my favorite toffee candy because the batch I made last week is all gone. That stuff doesn’t last long because it’s goooooood.

The rest of the menu is pretty typical:

Turkey (my mom puts two turkey breasts in the crock pot instead of a whole turkey since no one really eats dark meat)

Homemade noodles

Gravy

Smashed potatoes

Sweet potatoes

Stuffing

Dinner rolls

Pie (pumpkin and apple)

 

If you’ve waited ’til the last minute to finalize your Turkey Day menu, or if you don’t know what to bring to a family dinner, do yourself a favor and take a look at Pioneer Woman’s recipe archives.  You’ll find all sorts of delicious things.

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

