I woke up thinking about how good a McGriddle would be. Of course, I missed breakfast at McDonald’s and I recently read an article that made me think I might not want to eat there anymore.

The article is here if you want to read it.

Anyway, I knew there was some turkey bacon that needed to be eaten in the freezer, along with some Morningstar Farms ‘sausage’ patties that my dad wasn’t terribly fond of. We also had a little bit of regular pancake mix that mom wasn’t going to use because she bought whole wheat mix. A genius plan began to formulate in my noggin…

I fried up some turkey bacon (um, maybe 8 pieces?) and nuked a couple of the sausage patties. While all of that cooked I mixed up the pancake batter and threw in some shredded sharp cheddar cheese. After the bacon and sausage cooled I crumbled it up (only 4 pieces of the bacon… I might have been munching on it while I cooked), threw it all in the pancake batter and cooked three pancakes in the bacon grease.

GENIUS!

I’m not kidding, these were the most amazing pancakes I’ve ever eaten. The perfect mix of sweet (from a little syrup) and salty (duh, bacon and sausage). Plus? SO easy. My only regret is that I didn’t add enough cheese. It’s ok, I’ll do that next time. And there WILL be a next time.

I don’t know if I can eat regular pancakes again.

Now I realize that I can’t be the first person to think of this…but I had to share it. I don’t have pictures, sorry. They weren’t all that pretty to look at anyway. They were damn tasty, though!

