So I started a new job last Friday as a bartender. It’s taking some time to get used to it again but I think I’ll like it. The best part? Instant gratification as far as money goes…I get to walk out the door after a shift with money in my pocket. There are other perks, too…like the fact that I have all day to take care of any errands I need to run before I start working at 5:00. I also get a really good discount on food from the restaurant.

Since I’m on my feet from 5:00 pm until whenever I close, I bought these shoes:

I mentioned before that I really wanted a pair of those Reebok butt-toning shoes, but they’re expensive. I found these at Wal-MartΒ for less than $20.00! I also got some clothes for work because I’m not about to spend a bunch of money on nice clothes when I’m just gonna spill God knows what all over ’em… Bartending can be a messy job. I’m surprised to say I actually found a couple of cute shirts.

Now it wouldn’t be fair to say that there aren’t any sucky aspects of being a bartender… I mean, sometimes being the one sober person trying to maintain order in a room full of drunk people is less than fun. When your friends come in you don’t get time to talk to them unless you’re really slow. If you’re a cute girl (or guy, I guess) you’re gonna end up with creepers…And if you work in a bar that allows smoking you’ll always leave smelling like the bottom of a butt bucket.

One thing I didn’t expect…My 30 year old body wasn’t prepared to get back into the bartending thing and it’s been protesting ever since I started…Rather loudly. By the end of the first day my feet, ankles, knees, hips and lower back hurt. Seems like things are getting a little better, though, because Monday night only my feet and back hurt by the end of my shift.

Friday night is going to be my very first big-girl shift…I’m done with training and it’ll be my first night all by myself. Hopefully I don’t screw anything up too badly, but for now I’m not going to worry about it. My 30 year old body and I are going to enjoy my days off.

