So I’ve been spending my evenings with my nose buried in the American Heart Association cookbook while The Boyfriend plays Playstation… I’m convinced my Dad shouldn’t have to replace good-tasting food with healthy food. I’d been telling my parents how good Cornflake Fried Chicken is and I thought I could probably come up with a more heart-healthy version.

I made it for dinner tonight and I’m pretty darn proud of myself.

Delicious AND nutritious!

I used fresh boneless, skinless chicken breasts*. I wouldn’t recommend frozen chicken simply because it can contain a lot of sodium (1200 mg in some cases…eek!). Also? I said before to rinse your chicken…uh, don’t. I was wrong.

Mark your calendars guys…You probably won’t hear that again anytime soon.

Anyway, rinsing your raw chicken can get salmonella all over your sink and make cross-contamination easier. Don’t want that, do we? So don’t do it anymore. Unless you already didn’t, in that case just carry on.

Set your oven to 350 degrees. While that’s heating up, pour egg substitute* into a shallow dish and dump some Cornflakes into a bag OR another shallow dish. You can add seasoning (I used cayenne pepper, garlic and paprika…no salt!)  to either the egg or the Cornflakes*, though adding it to the egg might make it a little more evenly distributed. Crunch up the Cornflakes a bit, you don’t want any giant flakes.

I’m sure you know the drill by now…Dip chicken pieces into the egg, then into Cornflakes and put them on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for about 45 minutes depending on the thickness of your chicken. Use a meat thermometer if you’re not sure, or do what I do: pick the thickest piece and cut into the middle of it. If the meat is white and the juices are clear, it’s done! When it’s time to serve, give that piece to yourself or just flip it over on the plate so the hole isn’t visible. Sometimes ya gotta be sneaky.

I served the chicken with mashed potatoes (boiled without salt…just garlic and onions, then mashed with skim milk and Smart Balance ‘butter’*) and corn. I would have preferred fresh corn, but we already had a couple of cans in the pantry. Since the sodium was higher than I wanted I just dumped the cans into a strainer and rinsed the corn before I cooked it.

We also had light cottage cheese. I like to mix it with my mashed taters. Yes, I realize that might be weird.

We have some leftovers so tomorrow evening I’m going to attempt heart-healthy gravy.

Yep. I’m gonna attempt to make the least healthy food I can think of better for you. I’ll let you know how it works out.

 

*I linked to the nutrition info for all of these products…I’m in no way an expert, but I checked them all out to make sure they fit the guidelines in the AHA cookbook.

