Thrown for a loop…

Thrown out of balance…

However you want to phrase it, that’s how I feel.

I know I haven’t been around much lately, and I’m sorry about that. Two weeks ago there was a death in the family…something that was completely unexpected. I didn’t feel like writing and I really didn’t have anything funny to say.

I’d like to say my absence is over but I don’t know that I’ll feel much like updating for the next couple of weeks.

Yesterday my Dad went in for a heart cath because of an abnormal rhythm  the anesthesiologist noticed during his back surgery in June. I went with he and mom so she wouldn’t be stuck waiting by herself… We were hoping they’d tell us he could go home that evening and that no stents were necessary.

Well.

They did say he could go home that evening. They didn’t put stents in…but there were several blockages. Because of the location and the size of the arteries, the doctor said he felt that the best option for my dad would be surgery.

…As in…Open heart surgery?

Yes.

Talk about feeling like you’ve just been punched in the face and the gut at the same time…

His surgery has been scheduled for October 28th and he’s taking some prescriptions this week. The cardiologist says this will help prepare his heart for the surgery.

Mom and I went to the grocery store today to get Dad some heart healthy food… He’s not thrilled about the diet but we’re doing our best to come up with stuff he’ll like. It’s amazing how much sodium is in food… Even the stuff that’s supposed to be healthy!

We’re all still trying to get used to the idea around here so for a while there won’t be any stories about me pestering my mother. I feel like she needs a break.

If you’re so inclined, prayers would be appreciated. Even if you’re not the praying type feel free to send good thoughts our way.

