From Wiktionary:

Adjective

contumacious (comparative more contumacioussuperlative most contumacious)

  1. Contemptuous of authority; willfully disobedientrebellious.                              Synonyms
I’ve been asked how I ended up naming my blog Willfully Disobedient…and to be honest, it just popped into my head one night. I was trying to come up with a short phrase that would describe me or at least one strong aspect of my personality, but none of my ideas sounded right . I had decided to give up and get some sleep, but just as soon as my head hit my pillow it hit me…Willfully Disobedient
So there you have it.
Anyone that knows me would tell you that’s a pretty accurate way to describe me. I don’t do things the way you’re supposed to and I follow my own set of rules.
I’ve gone against the grain my whole life. When other little girls were wearing dresses, having tea parties and playing with Barbies, I was busy playing in the dirt with my Tonka dump trunk and collecting He-Man toys. Oh sure, I had Barbies…but my Battle Armor He-Man was just way cooler.

One of my first words was dirt, kid you not. According to my mom, my official first-ever word was Dada, followed by dirt and then Pepsi. I had my priorities in line from an early age.

You know, I tried to do things the way you’re supposed to. When I graduated from high school I went to college because…well, because that’s just what you do, right?

That lasted for a whole year.

I’m glad I went…I had a lot of great experiences, met a lot of people I’m still friends with today and I might not be with The Boyfriend now if I hadn’t gone. College just wasn’t my thing. Correction: College was awesome, but they expected you to go to all of these pesky classes and do things like study.  That’s the part I had a problem with.

Obviously I’m not good at doing things the way you’re supposed to.

This morning I had to get up early and get dressed up for an appointment. I stopped and bought a pair of pantyhose because a.) it’s friggin’ cold outside all of a sudden, and b.) I firmly believe in the power of pantyhose.

After I got out of the shower I dried off and started getting dressed. I picked up the package of pantyhose and noticed that it had specific instructions on it to ‘Open from bottom’.

Well screw you, pantyhose package. I opened you from the top because I DO WHAT I WANT.

Instructions be damned!

Willful disobedience indeed.

