So I found this recipe on The Pioneer Woman website last week and was itching to try it out… I mean, who doesn’t love barbecue chicken? Yesterday I strong-armed my way into my mom’s kitchen to make it, saying I wanted to make a nice Sunday dinner for them. Really? I just wanted to eat that chicken.

I’m selfish sometimes.

So, because I can’t follow a recipe exactly to save my life, I made a few changes. I didn’t have any Jack Daniels, so I used Jack Daniels barbecue sauce (Original No. 7 flavor) and (to make up for the liquid) 2 cups of water. I poured the water first into the empty barbecue sauce bottle and shook it up (put the lid on first!) then dumped that into the empty peach preserves jar and gave it a good shake. I didn’t want any of the yum to be left in the containers.

I also browned 11 boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Bones gross me out. I used 1 1/2 onions, and instead of browning them in the pan, I just threw them raw into a casserole dish along with the rest of the sauce fixins. I think I also used 4 whole garlic cloves instead of 3. I used chives instead of green onions because I just love chives.

They seem fancier.

I put the whole thing in the oven, covered in foil, for the recommended time. An hour and a half of smelling that is almost torture. Seriously.

While that was baking, I threw some cubed taters into a skillet with butter (um, a lot), garlic powder and salt. When they were just about done I tossed in some chives.

I had also planned to oven roast some fresh green beans, but when I went to the grocery store Sunday to get them…there weren’t any. NONE. I ended up using frozen cut green beans, and I tossed them in a skillet with salt, pepper, garlic, chives and olive oil.

Let me just tell ya, this was one yummy dinner. I wish I had pictures, but I was too busy stuffing my face to take any. Sorry.

You could probably do this in a crock pot, too…Just brown the chicken in the morning and put everything in the pot all day.

We had a pretty decent amount of chicken left over, so today I’m going to shred the chicken so we can have sandwiches with green beans, corn on the cob, and maybe some cottage cheese.

My stomach’s rumblin’ just thinking about it.

