My 30th birthday is coming up.

I know, right?

Anyway, every year I say I want to do something fun for my birthday…then, the week before I realize I haven’t planned a single thing. I don’t want that to happen this year so I’ve started thinking about it early. I already took a couple of vacation days and since it’s on a holiday weekend that means I have five whole days off.

But what to do with all of that glorious free time?

Last night I mentioned to The Boyfriend that I’d love to rent a mountain cabin in Tennessee sometime…But I’d settle for renting a cabin in Brown county because I’ve heard they’re really nice, too. I thought it would be fun to get some friends together and take a mini-vacation of sorts.

This was conveniently after I mentioned having five days off for my birthday so I hoped he would put the two together and plan something. Since I didn’t come right out and ask he’d get to feel like it was his idea and be all proud of himself.

See what a good girlfriend I am?

He didn’t say much, except to comment that he has a buddy that owns a cabin in that area. We ended up watching some tv and going to bed without talking about it further.

I was almost asleep when he suddenly piped up.

“You know, it would be more romantic if we waited to rent one of those cabins sometime around October 1st…”

Romantic? I didn’t realize that word was even in his vocabulary… I’d never heard him say that before.

It took all of two seconds for my half-asleep brain to realize he had a reason for bringing it up and it didn’t have a thing to do with romance. “What hunting season is that?”

“Um…it’s the start of bow season. And I have a stand that we could both sit in. It would work out great, since I’m left handed and you’re right handed, you could sit next to me and run the video camera.”

“I see…”

So now Boyfriend thinks he’s going to get me to wear camo, climb up in a tree and sit quietly for hours so he can shoot at woodland creatures. He also thinks I might even want to try my hand at hunting and thinks it’s a GRAND idea to teach me how to gut a deer.

I’ve already told him I won’t be shooting Bambi or his mother (he assured me we could only aim at bucks if it would make me feel better) and I certainly would NOT be gutting anything.

Still, and I can’t believe I’m saying this, I don’t think I’d mind going with him except for one tiny thing…

What if I have to pee?

 

 

