They gave me a pedometer at work.

Apparently, it has to do with the fitness program… They’re trying to get a combined number of steps that would equal walking to a far-away location. To be honest, I didn’t listen. As our resident personal trainer handed me the shiny silver box that contained my very own brand-new pedometer, I had only one thing in mind:

I MUST have more steps than ANY OTHER PERSON in the whole company.

I don’t know why, but whenever I get involved in something like this I get super competitive. It’s been a problem since the fundraising days in elementary school. I remember specifically that in sixth grade we made a quilt to raffle off Β (the proceeds were to help fund our big trip to Chicago) and the person that sold the most tickets won a prize.

Truthfully, I didn’t give a damn about the prize (a pillow…kinda lame)…I just wanted to WIN. I shoved those raffle tickets in the faces of everyone I knew and dad took them to work. I was so happy to be announced the winner that you’d have thought I’d just won the lottery. I still have the pillow somewhere. It’s still lame. The sweet taste of victory, however, is the farthest thing from it.

Anyway, back to the pedometer.

Since I got the thing earlier today I’ve been looking for excuses to get up from my desk. I’ve made a lot of trips to the bathroom and mail area, walked to another building and made a couple of trips outside on my lunch and break. Β To make absolutely sure every single step is registered, I’ve attached the pedometer to the flip-flop on my right foot and I make sure to stomp a little when I walk.

I’m sure it looks a little odd to see me stomping around the office. I don’t care. You know why?

Because that’s the stomp of a WINNER. Just you wait.

