Before I even talk about how my Dad is doing, I feel that it’s important to say something. I’ve NEVER been so impressed by a hospital as I was with Clarian-Arnett (IU Health Center) in Lafayette, IN. From the moment we walked in the door and checked my Dad in to the moment he was released, every single person we encountered was absolutely wonderful. It was obvious to my mom and I that the people in that hospital really do CARE about the well-being of the patient. Even better, they treated my mom and I with the same kindness and respect that they gave my dad. We were notified every step of the way while we waited in the surgical waiting room and once my dad got to his room they made sure to give us a detailed report of how he was during the surgery and recovery.

My mom had a ton of questions (often asking the same question more than once) and the nurses and doctors answered every single question without a hint of annoyance when they were repeating themselves. When the nurses came in to check on my dad they made sure to ask if my mom and I needed anything, offering to get us coffee or cold drinks. When one of the nurses came in to check my dad’s vitals late Saturday night and saw my mom and I crashed on the armchair and couch, she even offered to get linens and make ‘beds’ for us.

Every person that came into my dad’s room had a smile on his or her face and would chat and joke with us. We definitely felt well taken care of.

I really can’t say enough good things about Clarian-Arnett hospital.

As far as my dad goes, he’s doing well. He got to come home Saturday afternoon and has been slowly but steadily improving ever since. He’s still experiencing some pain in his left leg, but the surgeon said that’s to be expected since the nerve needs time to heal.

Mom is, of course, probably driving him a little nuts. She obviously means well… Just trying to make sure he doesn’t do too much before he’s healed enough. I’m sure he gets a little tired of being scolded for walking down the porch steps by himself, though.

I’ll leave you with a conversation that happened on the drive home from the hospital:

I was driving, my dad was sitting in the front passenger seat and had started feeling the effects of the pain meds they gave him to help make the ride home easier.  Mom piped up from the back seat to ask if she asked too many stupid questions and if we thought the nurses and doctors were annoyed by her. My dad’s response was, in my opinion, hilarious.

“Now Deb, you’re really worried about the questions you asked when I just got naked in the shower with a cute young nurse?!”

After we all had a good laugh, my dad looked at me and said “You know, I was naked, not nekkid. Do you know the difference?”

“Well, no…”

“Naked is when you don’t have any clothes on. Nekkid is when you don’t have any clothes on and you’re up to something!”

 

 

