So I thought unemployment would mean I could do some serious couch sitting in my jammies for a few days… It kind of didn’t happen that way, though.

Friday I was jolted out of sleep at 8:15 by a call from my mom reminding me that we were meeting for breakfast at 9:30. I kept the conversation short so I could go back to sleep for a few minutes, but just as I was about to nod off…

Yeah, my phone rang again. I assumed it was my mom reminding me to bring my grandma’s mail or something, but upon checking my caller id (by holding the phone an inch from my face and squinting because I’m blind without my contacts) I realized it was someone else calling. A BOY.

Calm yourself. I’ve known him since close to the dawn of time and we saw each other recently so even though his call was sort of out of the blue it didn’t seem like a big deal.

Of course I tried really hard to sound awake but he still made fun of me for being in bed at the ridiculous hour of 8:30 am. He wanted to know if I would go with him to a birthday thing Saturday night. I agreed, of course.

So I managed to get to the restaurant before my mom and grandma, we had a lovely breakfast chock full of cholesterol and as we were finishing up another friend sent me a text asking me to go shopping with her. I left the restaurant and headed to her house, and when I walked in she handed her baby over asking me to burp her. A lot of my friends keep telling me I need to have a baby of my own but I like being Aunt Ashlee to all of their babies. I get to cuddle and feed and play with them, but when they get fussy or poop I can hand them back over.

We spent the day looking for an outfit for said baby and doing some shopping for ourselves, then parted ways because she had to get to work. I made my way home, prepared to finally spend quality time with my couch and Netflix.

So I got a couple of hours of sitting around in before someone ELSE called to see if I wanted to play cards and have a few beers at her house.

Saturday I did get to be lazy ’til about 6:00 when I had to get ready for the party… My friend asked if I was hungry so we stopped for dinner and then off to the party we went. I had a blast, met some awesome people and had a few too many beers. My friend was cool with me crashing at his place instead of driving home…then I spent the entire next day hanging out with him watching cartoons and eventually Indiana Jones. It was pretty cool, except for the fact that I was supposed to be at another friend’s house at 3:00. When I actually looked at the clock it was 7:00.

Oops.

So I took off and she had saved a plate from dinner for me so I ate and played Legos for a little while with her four-year old. He wanted me to build something “cool” and he ended up with a lopsided house that didn’t really have a door or a roof. It’s pretty sad when a four-year old has to point those things out to you and then calls you silly. Once the rugrat went to bed we had some girl talk ’til her husband came from his job as a pizza delivery driver. He had made a pizza at work that he was kind enough to share with me. He used a hand-tossed crust and topped it with garlic butter instead of pizza sauce, then covered the whole thing in cheese, american sausage and a couple of other things. Healthy? Probably not. Delicious? Absolutely.

I finally made it home around 1:00 and went straight to bed.

Today I FINALLY got the chance to act like someone that doesn’t have a job…Not that I’m super proud to say this, but I didn’t even get out of bed ’til noon and kept my pajamas on ’til almost 6:00. I thought it would be awesome but in all reality I wanted out of the house so badly that I told my roommate we were going grocery shopping when she got home from work.

After shopping we made a pretty fabulous dinner of Salisbury steak (frozen), corn, Brussels sprouts and smashed taters.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love the fact that I actually have time to spend with my wonderful friends and family…But I’m not kidding, the battery to my phone isn’t even lasting an entire day due to the high volume of text messages and calls I’ve been getting.

Does unemployment = popular?

It kind of feels that way.

