Friday I had lunch with a few girls I work with and one of them mentioned that my boss (who is not her boss) bought her one of those giant iced cookies for her birthday.  Now, to my knowledge my boss hasn’t given anyone on our team a birthday desert, oh, ever. Seemed like a perfect opportunity to do some boss tormenting.

When I got back from lunch I asked him about the birthday cookie and he didn’t seem to think there was an issue. I kindly reminded him that I (his favorite employee) didn’t get a birthday cookie and he tried to cover by saying he didn’t know when my birthday was. Whatever.

I had a magnet at my desk from Gigi’s Cupcakes, so I gave Boss the magnet and told him I expected a going away cupcake. I guess he thought I was joking so to make sure we were clear I sat down on the floor in front of my desk to pout. He tried to tell me to get up but I wasn’t having it… So I sat there for about five minutes until I got tired of it.

I’ve been reminding him every day about the cupcake. I’ve even tried to make it easier for him by telling him what I like.

Me: Just so you know, I’m not really that picky.

Boss: Uh, ok.

Me: I mean, you know that whole ‘fat kids and cake’ thing. Yeah, it applies.

Boss: Good to know.

Me: SO as long as there’s a combination of cake plus icing… I’m sure I’ll like it.

Boss: …

Me: CUPCAKE BOSS! FOCUS!

Boss: …

Me: You’re breaking my heart.

Yesterday I decided to make him a reminder. They say men are very visual, so I drew him a picture and thumbtacked it to his cube wall.

CUPCAKE

When I got to work this morning there STILL wasn’t a cupcake sitting on my desk. Boss tried to give me some excuse about having an exam this morning but I wouldn’t have it.

I think I’m going to have to prove that I’m serious about this. The next step will be to hold my breath until he promises to get me one.

Obviously.

**UPDATE**

I just talked to Boss and NOW his excuse is that he doesn’t want to show favoritism. He also said something about having to buy for the whole team to avoid it and blah blah blah…

I’m going to need to get serious about this.

