Everyone has a song that really speaks to them… Think of the first time you heard that song, really listened to the lyrics, and thought “Oh my God that’s me!”  There are a lot of songs that I can identify with, but not one hits home as much as Grey Street by Dave Matthews Band. I’m sure some of you already know the lyrics, but for those of you that don’t go ahead and click here to read them. Also, here’s a video of the band performing the song live.  I’ll hang out here and wait ‘til you’re done.

It’s strange, posting the lyrics and telling you about that song is actually a bit uncomfortable for me. I feel just about as exposed as I think I would by posting a naked picture of myself (which, by the way, is not going to happen. Ever.). Guys, that song so accurately defines a huge part of me that it was almost scary the first time I heard it. It’s like someone took my feelings and the jumble of thoughts that run through my head most every day and did something with them I’ve never been able to do… And that is to explain them in a way that will allow other people to finally understand, maybe just a little, the kind of desperation and emptiness I feel sometimes. There are definitely days that I would like nothing more than to act out in frustration, and the lyrics “She feels like kicking out all the windows /And setting fire to this life /She could change everything about her /Using colors bold and bright” are a spot on description of how I feel in those moments.

I don’t want this to turn into a ‘woe is me’ post. I know that I’ve been blessed in my life in countless ways and I wouldn’t want anyone to think I sit around feeling sorry for myself. I know there are people out there that deal with far more terrible things every day and while there are definitely things I’d like to change, I’ve become comfortable with my personality quirks. It’s taken me 29 years to get to this point and I think I can finally say that I know exactly who I am. I’m not asking for anyone to feel sorry for me here. In fact, I’m really doing nothing more that putting my thoughts out there after I listened to the song on my way home from work tonight.

So…now I’m curious about you. What song fits you right now? Let me know in the comments!

 

