So let’s say you wake up one morning and really want an omelet but you don’t want to dirty up a pan…not to mention flipping it can be such a pain and if you mess up you’re stuck with scrambled eggs. Sure, they taste pretty much the same but that’s not what you wanted.Ā  It could ruin your whole day.

Let me just tell you… there is an easier way to make an omelet that will pretty much turn out perfectly every time and I’m gonna tell you how to do it.

First, put a pot of water on the stove to boil. Obviously, the more omelets you’re making the bigger the pot.

Ok…Now get a plastic ziploc baggie. I usually use the extra large sandwich baggies but if you want a bigger omelet you might want to go with a gallon baggie. Also, I never use cheapo thin baggies for this…I’m afraid the baggie will melt and ruin my cheesy, eggy goodness.

Assemble your ingredients… I use 2 eggs, a splash of milk and whatever fillings sound good at the time. Today I used some leftover sausage, American cheese, parmesan cheese, a little onion, chives, garlic powder, onion powder, sea salt, pepper and a little basil. You can put whatever you like in yours…this is actually a great way to use leftover stuff that you might have hanging around in your fridge.

Crack the eggs right into the baggie and throw everything else in there. Make sure you get it closed with a minimal amount of air and smoosh everything around to mix…you’ll want to make sure to get the eggs mixed pretty well so smoosh and shake ’til it looks good. When you’ve got a rolling boil going on in your pot o’ water, put the baggie in and set your timer for about 15 minutes. Remember, this was for a 2 egg omelet. If you’re using more eggs you may need to adjust the time.

Now you can go do whatever you want for 15 minutes. I sometimes like to turn the baggie over a few times while it’s boiling but it may not really be necessary.

Once the timer goes off, I take the baggie out and set it on a towel for a minute…then open the baggie (be careful of the steam) and dump it on a plate. It should be perfectly fluffy on the inside and your cheese should be melted. Sometimes my fillings like to migrate to the bottom of the baggie while cooking but that’s not really a big deal.

Now eat it and marvel at how awesome I am to be sharing this with you.

This is something that works really well if you’re making breakfast for a group of people… just set everything out and let them assemble and mix, put everyone’s in the same pot of water and you’re done.

I don’t recommend using any sort of raw sausage or bacon because I doubt it would cook thoroughly. I’m also not sure how some veggies would cook… If you’re using broccoli or something similar you’ll probably want to cut it into very small pieces.

I’d have a picture of the omelet I made today but I demolished it before I thought to take one. Sorry!

Let me know if you have any questions or comments. No go forth and make omelets!

