I used to hate ham. Like, the stuff made me gag if I attempted to eat it. I don’t know why, but I just couldn’t do it.

I remember one specific ham incident from my high school years like it was yesterday…I had spent the night at a friend’s house, and her mom fixed us lunch while we were outside. I was starving, so when I plopped down in front of my plate and saw a ham sandwich I was pretty disappointed. I was also afraid they would think I was rude if I said I hated ham… so I ate that sandwich, swallowing every tiny bite whole. It took me forever, and in my struggle to be polite I probably made myself look like a total weirdo.

Things have changed in the last few years, though. Pregnancy can do weird things to you, and making me actually enjoy ham in certain situations is one of them. I doubt I’ll ever order a ham steak at a restaurant,  or get excited over spiral ham at Easter, but when it’s honey ham shaved so thinly it falls apart? Yeah, I’ll take it.

I made a chicken cordon bleu casserole not long ago that was really good (especially when we topped baked potatoes with the leftovers). Since then, I’ve had thoughts of a chicken cordon bleu grilled cheese dancing around in my head. When I saw seamless dough sheets hanging out with the canned biscuits at the store, a light bulb went off. I picked up half a pound each of turkey and ham and headed home to bake up some tasty treats.

Chicken cordon bleu roll ups

1 can seamless dough

Deli chicken or turkey, shaved (I used oven roasted turkey)

Deli honey ham, shaved

Thinly sliced swiss cheese, about 10 slices

Honey dijon mustard

Preheat your oven to 375° and line a baking sheet with parchment.  Unroll the dough onto the parchment and top it with turkey and ham, then sliced cheese. Drizzle the honey dijon over the cheese.

image

Roll it up and slice it into 8 rounds. Place them about an inch to an inch and a half apart on the parchment, then pop it into the oven for 15-20 minutes.

image

image

These would be a great alternative to a boring sandwich in your kid’s lunch box, or awesome finger food at a party. We loved them…In fact, I barely managed to save one for O’s lunch today. I had to be sneaky so I hid it in a cream cheese container, because The BF is a late-night snacker.

The best part? It took me 5 minutes to put these together. I served them with cottage cheese and grape tomatoes,  and steam in the bag veggies…so not only was dinner an absolute breeze last night,  but cleanup was a snap.

